Dietary requirements to be aware of

When hosting a dinner party these days, there is bound to be someone attending with some kind of dietary requirement. However it’s essential to always check with each person attending, and if they have an allergy always get the NHS website here for more details to be certain of what they can and cannot eat, the below is just a guideline.   You’ll have heard of most of them, but to make it easy we’ve included all the main restrictions below:

Vegan

A plant based diet with no animal products. Vegans don’t eat meat, fish, eggs or dairy products

Ovo-Vegetarian

Eat mostly plants in addition to eggs. They do not eat dairy products, meat or fish

Lacto-Vegetarian

Eat mostly plants in addition to dairy products. They do not eat eggs, meat or fish

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian

Eat mostly plants in addition to dairy products and eggs. They do not eat meat or fish

Check out this bunch of great veggie recipes

Pescetarian

Vegetarian diet but they also eat fish. They do not eat meat

Lactose Intolerance

Lactose is the sugar found in milk and dairy products, so these must be avoided

Diabetic

Diabetics need to continuously monitor their blood sugar levels as they aren’t able to produce insulin. It’s best to limit the number of high-fat foods they eat and offer alternative low-sugar drinks and desserts.

Coeliac (celiac)

Those with coeliac disease, aren’t able to eat foods that contain barley, rye or wheat, including farina, graham flour, semolina, durum, cous cous and spelt. The ingestion of gluten leads to damage in the small intestine and can be very dangerous.

Gluten intolerant

Must avoid wheat and other grains, as the consumption will cause short-term bloating and tummy pai

Common allergies to be aware of:

Milk

An allergy to cows milk is most common in infants and children. Typically they do not eat cows milk or cows milk products such as cheese, cream, butter and yogurt

Egg

Second most common in children, almost some outgrow their allergy to eggs. Any egg-based products are to be avoided such as ice cream, mayonnaise and fresh pasta (always check the label, some are egg-free)

Soy

Part of the legume family, soybeans or soy products are found in a high number of processed foods. Products to avoid are edamame, miso and tofu. Soy can also be found in Asian cuisine, processed meats and soaps/moisturisers

Wheat

This grain product is the basis of a lot of main meals, for example, it’s found in rice, oats and quinoa. It’s best to avoid products such as pasta, flour and couscous. Unexpected items that may include wheat include beer, breakfast cereal and salad dressing. Please note – buckwheat (despite the name) is not related to wheat and is considered safe

Shellfish

There are two shellfish groups: crustaceans (such as shrimp, crab and lobster) and Mollusca (such as clams, mussels, oysters, and scallops). To be safe, those allergic to shellfish should steer clear of all fish restaurants and any places that prepare fish or fish markets as there are high risks of cross-contamination. Products such as krill, lobster, barnacle, and prawns should be avoided, as well as products such as Bouillabaisse sauce, cuttlefish ink, and surimi. Allergic reactions can be fatal

Nut

A peanut allergy is not to be mistaken with a tree nut allergy (cashews, walnuts and almonds, for example) although those that suffer from a peanut allergy are more likely to also be allergic to tree nuts. It’s recommended to avoid all food containing nuts or traces of nuts, even artificial nuts. Unexpected items that may contain nuts can include African and Asian food cuisine, pancake and pizzas. Allergic reactions can be fatal     Information sourced from here and here.

Entertaining guests? Check out our full entertaining guide here.